LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga – Review

What actually got me to play this game was the overwhelmingly positive reviews that were coming out around the time of release. It seemed like a legit good Lego game based in the Star Wars Universe. Each of the main 6 movies are all represented here, and you can go through them in order. I think the last Lego game I played was the Marvel Avengers open world one, which I got the platinum for. So it’s been a while and I thought I was ready to come on back to this genre of games.

I did complete all six movies and even started to attempt to get the platinum trophy, but I had to stop. What I realized in all that time playing is that this is just an okay game, it’s not as great as people were hyping it up to be. I don’t even understand why they were hyping it up. Was it just that it was Star Wars and they had 6 movies worth of content in the game? That’s cool and all, but my issue is more with the game design and this formula for what a Lego game is. It really doesn’t hold up to these long form types of play sessions.

Playing through the game to just get through the story and levels is not as bad of an experience. It’s kind of fun as long as you don’t decide to do every little side quest and try to find all the hidden things you need for trophies. Which I went in and out of during my time with the game. The closer I got to my time with it I started to understand that I didn’t want to do any of that side content anymore and I quickly dropped it.

The concept of everything being made out of Legos and the hidden jokes they have scattered throughout the levels are really fun and interesting. And it was a decent look game to boot. It’s just that, have you ever played a Lego game before? If so, just skip any new release since you’ve already done this before. You’ve gone through the environment destroying every single object you see to get studs. This game turns into the collect-a-thon from hell in my experience. I don’t know, it just really started to bother me.

Final Score – 6.0

A decent game if you’re not up on all the Lego games, especially if you’re just doing the storyline and main missions. Stick to that, don’t try to collect everything or you’ll go mental. It also just ruins any sense of fun you may think you’re having.

Yes, even Episode 1 is here.

How many millions of studs do you need?

And yes, they got some Jar Jar Binks.

Leave a comment