Sackboy: A Big Adventure – Review

Another one of those extra games that you get with your subscription service. I was a fan of Little Big Planet from the release of the first title. I love the concept of playing through a side scrolling game, collecting pieces that you can later use to build levels with. It’s a brilliant concept that was only weighed down by the floaty controls that just never felt right to me. You’d get a hang of it and manage your way through the game, but I always wondered why they never just made it better, which we all know what that means (Mario). I think that was what really kept me away from enjoying the whole series more.

Sackboy: A Big Adventure on the other hand, is a fixed perspective 3D platformer that completely removes the “create” mode from the previous titles. I actually really enjoyed what this title had to offer. It was a fun, lighthearted platformer that didn’t overstay its welcome. I attempted to go for the platinum trophy but fell off at some point. Looking back it probably has to do with the multiplayer trophies that I wasn’t really interested in doing. 

It was a beautiful looking game with an art style that suits the franchise. Not really the best out there, but it is a Sackboy game. I would like to see a different style applied to this concept, just reboot the franchise not just in perspective and genre, but also in the looks department as well. Or did we already get that with Tearaway? 

Final Score – 8.0

I did enjoy the game and would recommend it to others that are interested in this type of game. I paid nothing for it besides my subscription price so it had that going for it. It’s just been about a year since I played it and this is all I really have to say about it. Cheers!

Leave a comment